136-38 West Clay Street
Built, probably 1820-1821
A crib for the Methodist Man.
The only building of comparable date still standing on Clay was built probably in 1820 by Isaac A. Goddin at what is now 136-38 West Clay. Sixteen years later it became the home of James M. Taylor, who lived there for over twenty years.
Taylor, who was an auctioneer and large builder and owner of real estate, was a leader of Richmond Methodism. Although his one-time home has been made into a double house and disfigured by pairs of arched windows, the general outlines are characteristic of many early nineteenth century houses—broad and shallow with a gabled roof.
Across from his own home Taylor built in 1839 or ’41 an attractive little row of four houses, 207-13 West Clay, of which only the western one remains unchanged. [ORN]
And changed or not, they remain today, right across from Abner Clay Park.
(James M. Taylor House is part of the Atlas RVA Project)
Must-See RVA! is a regular series
appearing on rocket werks – check it out!