Connect with us
[adrotate banner="51"]


Central Virginia Transportation Authority elects Richmond Mayor Levar Stoney as Board Chair

Established by the General Assembly of Virginia in 2020, the Authority directs funding for priority transportation investments across the region.  

Trevor Dickerson



The Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) has elected new board and committee leadership roles as well as two new members for fiscal year 2024. Richmond Mayor Levar Stoney and Ashland Vice Mayor John H. Hodges were elected as chair and vice chair, respectively, at the CVTA meeting on Friday, July 17, 2023.

“I am honored to serve as the chair of the Central Virginia Transportation Authority,” Mayor Stoney said. “Central Virginia has experienced unprecedented growth over the last decade, and it is our duty to deliver transportation solutions that will benefit residents for generations to come. I applaud the work that was accomplished under the stewardship of [Chesterfield] Supervisor [Kevin} Carroll and look forward to continuing to have his insight and support as we work together on regional transportation priorities. The CVTA is a vital asset for the Richmond region, and I look forward to hitting the ground running to ensure our region’s advancement.”

“It has been an honor to serve the region and my colleagues as CVTA chair this past year, and as vice chair the two years prior,” Carroll said.  “Together, we’ve built something that has transformed how we prioritize and meet transportation needs. I’m proud of the work we’ve done, and I look forward to all we will continue doing to enhance how we travel throughout the region. On behalf of Chesterfield, I extend my congratulations to Mayor Stoney and Vice Mayor John Hodges on their selections as the new chair and vice chair, respectively.”

Established by the General Assembly of Virginia in 2020, the Authority directs funding for priority transportation investments across the region.

CVTA includes membership from the Town of Ashland, and Charles City, Chesterfield, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, New Kent and Powhatan counties, and the city of Richmond, as well as representatives from the Senate of Virginia, House of Delegates, Commonwealth Transportation Board, Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation, Virginia Department of Transportation, Virginia Port Authority, GRTC Transit System Richmond Metropolitan Transportation Authority and the Capital Region Airport Commission.

As part of its search for an executive director, the CVTA also today made a forward motion to extend an offer to fill that position. More information will be forthcoming once the hiring process has been completed.

Representatives from the City of Richmond, Chesterfield and Henrico Counties are standing members of the Finance Committee.  Newly appointed members from New Kent and Powhatan Counties are Supervisor Patricia A. Paige and Supervisor Michael W. Byerly, respectively.  A complete list of CVTA Finance Committee members for FY24 can be found here.

Will you help support independent, local journalism?

We need your help. RVAHub is a small, independent publication, and we depend on our readers to help us provide a vital community service. If you enjoy our content, would you consider a donation as small as $5? We would be immensely grateful! Interested in advertising your business, organization, or event? Get the details here.

Trevor Dickerson is the Editor and Co-Founder of RVAHub.