Connect with us
[adrotate banner="51"]


RESULTS: Stoney leads mayoral race as new City Council, School Board members elected

It was a night of surprises, new faces, and a bit of uncertainty in Richmond’s mayoral, City Council, and School Board races Tuesday night.

Trevor Dickerson



Mayoral Race

Former Secretary of the Commonwealth Levar Stoney leads the mayoral race in Richmond as of this morning, and the results could come down to 9,000 uncounted absentee ballots.

Stoney appears to have edged out former Venture Richmond executive director Jack Berry without considering the absentee vote to win five districts within the City of Richmond–the 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 6th, and 7th. Should the yet-to-be-counted votes change that outcome, the two would face off in a runoff to be held December 20th. A city spokeswoman said Wednesday morning that the registrar’s office hopes to finish counting ballots today, but stressed that the process could take a while due to the volume of ballots.

Joe Morrissey, whom many considered to be the frontrunner in the mayoral race, came in a distant third and conceded the election at his election night party Wednesday evening.

City election laws state candidates must win five of the nine city districts to win a mayoral election outright. Otherwise, the top two candidates in the popular vote must compete in a runoff.

— ∮∮∮ —

City Council Race

In the 1st District City Council race, Andreas Addison leads opponent Harry H. Warner by around 300 votes, so absentee ballots may come into play here as well. In the 2nd, Kim Gray took home a victory. Kristen Larson took the 4th, while incumbents Parket Agelasto and Ellen Robertson were re-elected in the 5th and 6th, respectively. Cynthia Newbille won the 7th, Reva Trammell held onto the 8th, and Michael Jones took the 9th.

— ∮∮∮ —

School Board

Expect a lot of fresh faces on Richmond’s School Board next year. Eight of the nine candidates are new to the position. Liz Doerr took the 1st District while Scott Barlow clinched the 2nd. Jeff Bourne–the lone incumbent–was re-elected in the 3rd, Jonathan Young took 4th. Patrick Sapini is in the lead in the 5th by a mere 200 votes, Felicia Cosby is elected in the 6th, Nadine Carter takes 7th, Dawn Page the 8th, and Linda Owen in the 9th.

— ∮∮∮ —

Click here to view official city-wide results by district for each race. We’ll continue to follow the results as they come in and will update if and when things change.

Will you help support independent, local journalism?

We need your help. RVAHub is a small, independent publication, and we depend on our readers to help us provide a vital community service. If you enjoy our content, would you consider a donation as small as $5? We would be immensely grateful! Interested in advertising your business, organization, or event? Get the details here.

Trevor Dickerson is the Editor and Co-Founder of RVAHub.